A few facts about the Himalayas

‘Himalayas’ in the ancient language of Sanskrit means ‘abode of the snow’.

The ‘Himalayas’ stretch over 1,500 miles across 7 countries: - Burma, Bhutan, Nepal, India, Tibet, Pakistan and Afghanistan.

They are home to 9 of the 10 highest peaks in the world, the highest being Mount Everest at 29,029ft.

Source of 3 of the world’s major rivers: - Ganges, Indus and Brahmaputra

The ‘Himalayas’ has the third largest deposit of ice and snow (after the Antarctic and Arctic)

Click on any thumbnail to see a larger view of the images: